Basketball: US repeat as FIBA Women’s World Champions

Like the men’s team did about a month ago the United States defended their title and won the 2014 Women’s FIBA World Championships for a record ninth time and qualified to the Olympics. The tournament was held from September 27th to October 5th 2014 where 16 teams across the world competed to become world champions and for 1 Olympic berth.

The United States went undefeated throughout the tournament and met Spain in the final. United States quickly took the lead and built it up to 48-29 by half-time. While Spain attempted to mount a bit of a comeback in the second half the United States was able to finish off with a 77-64 win. Tournament MVP Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx) who scored 18 points in the final and Brittany Griner of the Phoenix Mercury were both named to the tournament’s all-star team.

With both the United States and Brazil, the two highest ranked teams from the Americas already qualified qualification in the Americas tournament has become easier. Both Canada and Cuba will be looking to take the sole qualification spot while teams like Argentina and Puerto Rico will attempt to qualify though the final qualification tournament.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s