Basketball: Canadian Women Win FIBA Americas Championship

Canada went undefeated to win the 2015 Women’s FIBA Americas Championship. With Brazil as an exception the winner of the tournament will be given a spot to compete at the Olympics. The Women’s FIBA Americas Championship was held in Edmonton, Canada from August 8th to August 16 2015.

Host Canada dominated Group A averaging 97.5 points a game while only allowing 43. The domination included a 92-43 win over Cuba just weeks after Canada won against them by 3 points at the Pan American Games. Of course with both nations already through to the semifinals at that point Cuba rested some of their top platers. Puerto Rico finished third to advance to the fifth place match.

With Brazil officially being given a host quota to compete at the Olympics just before the tournament began it was clear that Brazil took the tournament with a bit more ease. This became clear in the final match of Group B where Argentina had a 38-24 lead at the half. While Brazil attempted to come back Argentina was able to hang on for a 73-69 win, their first win over Brazil since 1956. Both teams advanced to the semifinals while third place Venezuela advanced to the fifth place match.

The fifth place match would prove to be important with Brazil in the semifinals. The winner of the match would be able to keep their Olympic hopes alive as they would advance to the Final Olympic Tournament. Despite a fast 24-9 start by Puerto Rico in the first quarter Venezuela was able to dominate the rest of the game to win 65-56 and thus will compete in the final tournament for the first time in their history.

In the semifinals Argentina was able to reverse a 45-33 deficit at the half to take a 60-58 lead at the end of the third quarter. The fourth quarter was an even match, but Cuba was able to force overtime as the score ended 73-73. Having a sense of urgency Cuba dominated overtime to win the match 89-79. In the other semi-final Canada remained one step ahead of Brazil at all times slowly increasing their lead to an 83-66 win.

In the final Cuba was able to put up a decent fight initially, even taking a 22-19 lead after the first quarter, but despite Cuba’s best efforts at times Canada was able to take over the match with MVP Kia Nurse to win the title and the Olympic quota by a score of 82-66. Argentina was able repeat its performance during the group stage by defeating Brazil for a second time over a few days. They were able to do just enough each quarter to win the bronze medal 66-59.

This is the second time Canada has won this tournament and like the last time it was also when they were the host. For Cuba, Argentina and Venezuela all is not over as they have qualified to the final qualification tournament to be held in 2016.

Tournament Rankings

  1. Canada
  2. Cuba
  3. Argentina
  4. Brazil
  5. Venezuela
  6. Puerto Rico
  7. Ecuador
  8. Chile
  9. US Virgin Islands
  10. Dominican Republic


FIBA Americas. 2015 FIBA Women’s Americas Championship Results. Access on August 16 2015.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s