Sailing: Five Nations Qualify After 49er & 49erFX Championship

Italy and New Zealand struck gold at the 2015 49er and 49erFX World Championships. The top three nations not yet qualified in the men’s 49er and women’s 49erFX qualified to the Olympics. The 49er and 49erFX World Championships were held in Buenos Aries, Argentina from November 16th to November 21st 2015.

In total 14 nations were eligible to qualify in the women’s 49erFX. At the end of the qualification round it was Ida Nielsen and Marie Olsen on Denmark whom led all boats as they finished first in six out of the eight races. 25 boats, including 7 eligible nations advanced to the gold fleet while the others were left in the lower tier silver fleet.

A bad overall performance in the final races by Nielsen and Olsen pushed them off the top of the rankings, but a decent performance in the match race was enough to salvage a bronze medal. The gold medal came down to the final race between Italy’s Giulia Conti and Francesca Clapcich and Brazil’s Matine Grael and Kahena Kunze whom only needed to finish ahead of the Italian boat to win the gold. However, Conti and Clapcich were able to finish first in the final race to win the gold medal. The Olympic spots went to Argentina, Singapore and after a protest Canada as Ireland was disqualified in the 13th race.

The men’s 49er had 16 eligible nations to qualify. The qualification round was dominated by reigning champions Peter Burling and Blair Tuke of New Zealand where they won four out of the eight races. 26 boats including six eligible nations advanced to the gold fleet while the others competed in the silver fleet.

Burling and Tuke continued a strong final round as they went uncontested on route to a gold medal. The Olympic quotas were given to Argentina, Germany and Poland by virtue of their qualification to the match race. The silver medalist was won by Australia’s Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen whom past Spain’s Federico Alonso and Arturo Alonso Tellechea on the final race.

The final qualification path way for these two events will be at the individual continental qualification events, the first to be held in December for Oceania nations.


Quotas by Nation

  • Argentina – 2
  • Canada – 1
  • Germany – 1
  • Poland – 1
  • Singapore – 1




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s