Football: United States Wins Women’s CONCACAF Olympic Qualifier

United States went undefeated and did not concede a goal in their win at the 2016 Women’s CONCACAF Olympic Qualification Tournament. The eight-team tournament was split into two groups of four teams where the top two advance to the semi-finals. The winner and runner-up both qualified to the Olympics. The 2016 Women’s CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Tournament was held in Frisco and Houston, United States from February 10th to February 21st 2016.

Group A was topped by World and Olympic Champions United States as they went 16-0 against their opposition. They did struggle to defeat a resilient Mexico taking until the 80th minute for Carli Lloyd to score the only goal. Costa Rica would grab the upset over Mexico to reach the semi-finals. Costa Rica went up 2-0 with two goals by Raquel Rodriguez and while a 79th minute goal by Maribel Dominguez made the match interesting Costa Rica was able to hold on for a 2-1 win.

Group B was similarly dominated by Canada whom went 21-0 against the opposition. The upset of the group came from Guyana who was making their debut in this tournament. A comeback 2-1 win over Guatemala gave them the possibility to qualify to the semi-final. It was not to be as Trinidad and Tobago would go up 4-0 in the first 21 minutes and ended up winning the match 5-1 to reach the semi-finals.

Canada would take the game to Costa Rica and eventually made it 2-0 with two goals by Christine Sinclair. Costa Rica would score the first goal against Canada so far this tournament through a penalty kick at the 71st minute. Canada would however, seal their spot to the Olympics through an 86th minute goal by Deanne Rose to win the match 3-1. The United States also booked its spot to the Olympics led by a hat trick by Alex Morgan as they defeated Trinidad and Tobago 5-0.

In the final Canada was able to keep an attacking United States at bay, but two second half goals by Lindsey Horan and Tobin Heath gave the United States a 2-0 win.

This was the final qualification event for nations in the CONCACAF region. The remaining continental qualifiers will continue over the next month as the Asian and final European teams remain to be decided.


Tournament Rankings

  • 1. United States
  • 2. Canada
  • 3. Costa Rica
  • 3. Trinidad and Tobago
  • 5. Mexico
  • 5. Guyana
  • 5. Guatemala
  • 5. Puerto Rico




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s