Wrestling: Eastern European Nations Top European Qualifiers

Bulgaria, Poland and Ukraine led all nations in qualifying at the 2016 European Wresting Olympic Qualification Tournament. The top two athletes from each weight class qualified their nation to the Olympics. The European Wrestling Qualification Tournament was held in Zrenjanin, Serbia from April 15th to April 17th 2016.

Each day had two men’s freestyle, two women’s freestyle and two Greco-Roman events. The first day was led by Bulgaria and Poland whom qualified two athletes each. 2015 World Championship bronze medalist Vladimir Dubov of Bulgaria won the men’s freestyle -57kg over Armenia’s Garnik Mnatsakanyan 10-0. Dubov’s compatriot Elitsa Yankova also won her event, the women’s freestyle -48kg over Romania’s Alina Vuc in a 3-2 match. Poland’s Katarzyna Krawczyk defeated Germany’s Nina Hemmer in the women’s freestyle -53kg 10-0. Krawczyk’s compatriot Magomedmurad Gadzhiev gave Poland its second gold medal after he defeated Ukraine’s Andriy Kvyatkovskyi 4-0 in the men’s freestyle -65kg. 2012 Olympic silver medalist Tamas Lorincz of Hungary won his event by defeating Georgia’s Shmagi Bolkvadze 4-1 in the men’s Greco-Roman -66kg. The final event was won by Russia’s Sanal Semenov over Serbia’s Kristijan Fris in the men’s Greco-Roman -59kg via a score of 8-0.

On the second day Russia completed its Greco-Roman team with Aleksey Mishin winning the -85kg over Bulgaria’s Nikolay Bayryakov 3-1. Russia also qualified a second quota of the day in the women’s freestyle -63kg. However, Anastasia Bratchikova lost to Belarus’ Maryia Mamashuk 4-2. In the women’s freestyle -58kg Bulgaria’s Mimi Hristova defeated 2015 World -60kg gold medalist Oksana Herhel of Ukraine 5-2. After ensuring there spot to the Olympics two final matches ended in walkovers. The men’s Greco-Roman -75kg where Serbia’s Viktor Nemes won over Zurab Datunashvili of Georgia and the men’s freestyle -86kg where Hungary’s Istvan Vereb won over Amarhajy Mahamedau of Belarus. The final event was won by Azerbaijan’s Jabrayil Hasanov over Georgia’s Jakob Makarashvili 11-0.

On the final day Estonia won two gold medals in the Greco-Roman events. Ardo Arusaar defeated Hungary’s Adam Varga 3-1 in the Greco-Roman 98kg while 2012 Olympic silver medalist Heiki Navi defeated Germany’s Eduard Popp 3-0 in the Greco-Roman -130kg. Poland defeated Turkey in two finals; Radoslaw Baran defeated Ibrahim Bolukbasi 3-1 in the men’s freestyle -97kg while Agnieszka Wieszczek defeated Buse Tosun 9-5 in the women’s freestyle -69kg. Turkey did still win a gold medal in the women’s freestyle -75kg where Yasemin Adar won over Ukraine’s Alla Cherkasova in a walkover. The final event was won by Ukraine’s Alen Zasyeyev who won in a walkover against Belarus’ Yusup Jalilau.

Unqualified athletes will still have two more chances at qualifying at one of the two final qualification tournaments. The first one is scheduled for next week while the other will occur during the beginning of May.


Quotas by Nations

  • Bulgaria – 4
  • Poland – 4
  • Ukraine – 4
  • Belarus – 3
  • Georgia – 3
  • Hungary – 3
  • Russia – 3
  • Turkey – 3
  • Estonia – 2
  • Germany – 2
  • Serbia – 2
  • Armenia – 1
  • Azerbaijan – 1
  • Romania – 1




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s