Table Tennis: Tripartite Places Announced

The tripartite quotas have been announced for table tennis. Tripartite quotas are given to nations which have qualified an average of less than eight athletes in individual events over the past two Olympics. In total there were two quotas, one for the men’s singles and one for the women’s singles available.

Paraguay’s Marcelo Aguirre was awarded the men’s quota. This will be his third Olympics and it is the second time which he obtained a tripartite quota, the first being in 2008. The women’s quota was given to Syria’s Heba Allejji who will be making her Olympic debut.

We are still waiting for some nations whom qualified athletes from the World Rankings to accept their quotas. While there is no net change to the overall quota number China has declined the quota won by Fan Zhendong and Liu Shiwen. The quotas have been reallocated to their compatriots Xu Xin and Ding Ning respectively. Similarly Japan has declined the quota won by Maharu Yoshimura causing it to reallocate to his compatriot Koki Niwa.


Quotas by Nations

  • Paraguay – 1
  • Syria – 1




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s