Judo: IJF Reveals Olympic Competitors

The International Judo Federation has released the list of athletes which will compete in judo. The list also reveals the athletes selected through the tripartite commission and revealed two declined quotas. In total 20 quotas were made available to nations which qualified an average of less than eight athletes from individual events over the past two Olympics.

The tripartite quotas went to Afghanistan (men’s -100kg), Andorra (women’s -63kg), Belize (men’s -90kg), Burundi (women’s -52kg), Djibouti (men’s -66kg), Laos (men’s -60kg), Macedonia (women’s -63kg), Monaco (men’s -60kg), Montenegro (men’s -81kg), Nepal (women’s -63kg), Palestine (men’s -60kg), San Marino (men’s -100kg), Sri Lanka (men’s -73kg), Sudan (men’s -90kg), Suriname (men’s -66kg), Syria (men’s -73kg), Tanzania (men’s -73kg) and Yemen (men’s -73kg). The other two quotas were given to athletes competing in the Refugee Olympic Team (men’s -90kg and women’s -70kg).

Two nations also declined their continental quotas; Palau declined its women’s -63kg quota and South Africa declined its men’s -66kg quota. The quotas were reallocated to the next highest ranked nation from their respective continents. South Africa’s quota was reallocated to Congo DR (men’s -66kg) while for Palau no other eligible Oceania athletes remained so the quota was reallocated to the highest ranked eligible athlete, specifically Italy (women’s -48kg).

Provided that there isn’t any last minute injuries this should be the final list of athletes which will compete in the 2016 Olympics.


Net Quotas by Nations

  • Refugee Olympic Team – 2
  • Afghanistan – 1
  • Andorra – 1
  • Belize – 1
  • Burundi – 1
  • Congo DR – 1
  • Djibouti – 1
  • Italy – 1
  • Laos – 1
  • Macedonia – 1
  • Monaco – 1
  • Montenegro – 1
  • Nepal – 1
  • Palestine – 1
  • San Marino – 1
  • Sri Lanka – 1
  • Sudan – 1
  • Suriname – 1
  • Syria – 1
  • Tanzania – 1
  • Yemen – 1
  • Palau – -1
  • South Africa – -1




Shooting: Tripartite, Trading and Reallocations Announced

The International Sport Shooting Federation has updated its tripartite, traded quotas and the reallocation of some quotas. Originally 24 quotas were reserved for nations which have qualified less than an average of eight athletes to individual events over the past two Olympics. The quotas can be spread out over any of the 15 Olympic events.

In total 18 nations were granted tripartite quotas. Four nations were actually given two quotas; Bolivia (men’s 50m pistol and women’s 10m air rifle), Malta (men’s double trap and women’s 10m air pistol), Oman (men’s 50m rifle 3 positions, women’s 10m air pistol) and Pakistan (men’s 25m rapid fire pistol and women’s 10m air rifle). The 14 nations which received a single tripartite quota were; Andorra (women’s 10m air rifle), Angola (men’s trap), Bangladesh (men’s 10m air rifle), Barbados (men’s skeet), Bhutan (women’s 10m air rifle), Bosnia and Herzegovina (women’s 10m air rifle), Iraq (women’s 10m air rifle), Kosovo (women’s 10m air rifle), Lebanon (women’s trap), Macedonia (women’s 10m air rifle), Nicaragua (men’s 10m air pistol), Panama (men’s 10m air pistol), Paraguay (men’s double trap) and Sri Lanka (men’s 50m rifle prone).

In shooting nations are allowed to trade one of their athlete quotas to another. A nation can only do this once. In total 12 nations have traded quotas; Egypt (women’s 50m rifle 3 positions to men’s trap), India (men’s 50m rifle 3 positions to men’s trap), Italy (men’s 50m pistol to men’s 25m rapid fire pistol), Kazakhstan (men’s trap to women’s trap), South Korea (men’s 10m air pistol to women’s 10m air rifle), Qatar (men’s 50m rifle 3 positions to men’s skeet), Russia (women’s 10m air pistol to women’s skeet), Slovenia (women’s 10m air pistol to women’s 10m air rifle), Sweden (women’s 10m air rifle to men’s double trap) and Switzerland (women’s 10m air rifle to men’s 50m rifle 3 positions). China and Germany also traded quotas, but they also declined a quota due to a single athlete qualifying in two events despite the nation owning two athlete quotas thus we don’t know the trade. Regardless China has lost an athlete quota in men’s 50m pistol and women’s 50m rifle 3 positions and gained an athlete quota in men’s 50m rifle prone. Similarly Germany lost quotas in men’s 50m rifle 3 positions and women’s 10m air rifle and gained an athlete quota in women’s 25m pistol.

The ISSF also announced some reallocations of quotas. Reallocated quotas go to the nation with the most athletes which have attained the MQS, but did not qualify any athlete quotas during the qualification process. In total there were seven reallocated quotas, two from unused tripartite quotas, three through unqualified quotas from the continental qualifiers and two from nations which have declined athlete quotas, specifically China and Germany. The reallocated quotas went to; Azerbaijan (men’s 25m rapid fire pistol), Bahrain (men’s 50m rifle prone), Colombia (men’s trap), Estonia (men’s 25m rapid fire pistol), Lithuania (men’s skeet), Romania (men’s 10m air rifle) and Uzbekistan (men’s 10m air rifle). Technically the Netherlands was initially given a spot, but it was declined.

It is expected that a few more reallocation quotas will be given out as nations begin to finalize their teams. Similarly we can also expect more traded athlete quotas.


Quotas by Nations

  • Bolivia – 2
  • Malta – 2
  • Oman – 2
  • Pakistan – 2
  • Andorra – 1
  • Angola – 1
  • Azerbaijan – 1
  • Bahrain – 1
  • Bangladesh – 1
  • Barbados – 1
  • Bhutan – 1
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina – 1
  • Colombia – 1
  • Estonia – 1
  • Iraq – 1
  • Kosovo – 1
  • Lebanon – 1
  • Lithuania – 1
  • Macedonia – 1
  • Nicaragua – 1
  • Panama – 1
  • Paraguay – 1
  • Romania – 1
  • Sri Lanka – 1
  • Uzbekistan – 1